FCEI Early Hearing Detection & Intervention

Educational
PUBLIC PROFILE

2021 FCEI International Webinar Series

Posted by Letswalo M Community Manager on 26 March 2021 2:40 PM SAST
Letswalo M Community Manager photo

FCEI Principles in Perspective—Exploring the Issues from Multiple Angles is the FCEI virtual-learning series. Running from February to October 2021 these live, sign-language interpreted, interactive webinars will be free to participants. Each webinar will address a topic from the point-of-view of professionals, Deaf and Hard of Hearing adults, and parents in a facilitated discussion. Q&A opportunities will be an important interactive feature of each webinar, so register early to reserve your spot!

Session 2: Ensuring Cultural Competence within FCEI Programs 

 

What do we mean by cultural competence? The myriad of ways this concept impacts family-centred early intervention include everything from geographic and socio-economic considerations to Deaf Cultural values. In this session, we will explore the FCEI principles that affirm the importance of shared decision making within a team of professionals and parents where all members are equal. What are there barriers to this? Do we bring unintentional, unconscious bias and beliefs to our early intervention interactions? What is the influence of power and privilege in an early intervention session?

 

Join this webinar featuring different perspectives on identifying barriers and roadblocks, and suggesting new ways to consider what we really mean by being culturally competent.

 

This event will be provided in spoken English, American Sign Language, International Sign and English live captions

 

  Date: 25 March                                                

  • Sydney 10pm 
  • London 11am 
  • Vienna 12pm
  • Johannesburg 1pm
  • New York 7am
  • Vienna 12pm 
  • Denver 5am

You can register here: https://www.nextsense.org.au/professional-development/fcei-ensuring-cultural-competence-within-fcei-programs

 

Missed our February webinar or want to watch it again? You can find it on the FCEI International website: http://www.fcei.at/unit/fcei/modelsofpractice/2021fceiinternationalwebi

 

 

Want to learn more about FCEI? Information is available at this link.

 

Contact: fcei@bblinz.at

There are no comments

Sign in to add your comment.

Recent Posts

My baby has a hearing loss...what now?
Clink on the link to register: https://forms.gle/VjhCWPyx63qKW9Bk9
read more
2021 FCEI International Webinar Series
FCEI Principles in Perspective—Exploring the Issues from Multiple Angles is the FCEI...
read more
Results-Based Budgeting for ECD — The Case of Peru
Date: Thursday March 18, 2021/ Jueves 18 de marzo, 2021 Time: 10:00 (EST) | 16:00 (CET) | 17:00...
read more
Do’s and Don'ts for Hearing impairment in the learning environment
Hearing impairment occurs when there is damage or a problem to one or more parts of the ear, it is...
read more
Emily Howlett: The Cochlear Implant trade-off is personal
Not all deaf adults started out life as a deaf child. In fact, most of them don’t. I did....
read more
SADAG has launched a new support groups across SA
SADAG has been launching new Support groups across SA despite being in the middle of a pandemic. We...
read more
Deaf News: Deafblind woman allegedly verbally abused after sister removes face covering for lipreading
A deafblind woman was allegedly verbally abused by another rail passenger after her sister briefly...
read more
The launch of the FCEI Ecosystem
In July 2020 this ecosystem launched. The vision is for collaboration, collective intelligence,...
read more

Go to blog